Welcome to the Six O’Clock Opinion Show

I know that news is depressing. Who wants to sit around all day and hear about more soldiers dying in Iraq, or some kid was shot outside a nightclub? Not me that is for sure. I think that this is why we have decided as a nation that we are becoming more and more interested in hearing about our economic ruin with a hint of humor. Yes, I am referring to the advent of the comical news broadcast. Many Americans don’t mind hearing about how Wall Street is on the verge of collapse as long as Jon Stewart has a zinger to make me giggle at the end.

I have begun to notice though that the 24 hour news cycle stations have decided to try and jump on the bandwagon a bit. Although they are not as obvious (which is part of the problem) stations like MSNBC and FoxNews have been giving anchors their own show in which they discuss the events happening around the world with a touch of humor. Why is this so bad you ask, because instead of giving me news with my shot of humor, they give my news with a jab at one political party or another. 

As I said in a previous blog, these stations are beginning to take political points of view and are spinning things in a way that is bound to bring the opposing party up in arms. This wouldn’t be so bad if they didn’t pose as (in my opinion) legitement news shows. Obviously, The Colbert Report and The Daily Show are going to revolve more around the humor of the show being as the are aired on a channel called COMEDY NETWORK, but when I turn on a “news” station I want to hear news. Again I think that this is a product of the 24 hour news cycle and the need to fill precious time slots to keep advertisers happy. As a compromise can we just call them something that makes their agenda obvious. “Welcome to the six O’Clock opinion broadcast.

One Response to Welcome to the Six O’Clock Opinion Show

  1. Lou Heldman says:

    There’s real potential for someone to determine how much of the 24-hour news cycle on CNN, MSNBC or Fox News is taken up with actual news being reported for the first time. My guess is, less than four hours a day, and that’s generously including interview shows with newsmakers.
    In the middle of the night, CBS and ABC have fresh news programs while the three cable news stations don’t.

Leave a Reply

